Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
1

TRY NOT TO DIE (in C minor)

A Throw Back
1
Hello everyone! I missed the last two weeks of songwriter prompts and figured I’d check in (I was asked if everything was ok by a couple folks, which is both charming and hilarious). I am indeed fine. I played a super cool, intimate listening room 'solo' show last weekend with Andrew Cook on fiddle (is that still considered a solo show?) and was in the studio recording dobro for my very talented & lovely friend Tom Smith this weekend. Then I got to see two of my all time all time all time heroes of heroes, Leo Kottke and Julian Lage play this Saturday night in Ocala. I nerded out and got front row center seats for me and a couple buds. 
I have posted elsewhere about what Leo has meant to me in my upbringing as a young guitarist. He changed everything. 
Julian however…. 

I don't have words to describe what Julian does. All I can say is I have seen him a few times with his trio but never solo acoustic. Everything he performs just simply flows THROUGH him.  Mesmerizing from start to finish. (He played his Etude if you want to google what a solo Julian sounds like). Simply otherworldly. 


This song:
During the height of Covid lockdowns in the summer of 2020 Julian did a master class online thingy that I signed up for where you could ask a question in hopes he'd address it. The morning of the class I got an email from his people saying "Julian really liked your question and would like to discuss it live during the class. He also requested you perform a short song if you are willing." 

I damn near collapsed inside. There were ~ 100 guitar super nerds signed up for this thing. I was praying I wouldn't be first. (I have been doomed my entire life with alphabetization) 

I log in, it starts. Eventually he calls someone else's name to perform for the group. ....DEEP breath.... I can kinda see how it goes, what's the ropes here, how long to play, do you talk or introduce it? etc etc.  DEEP breath.

Then the guy's video feed fails to connect with sound so Julian says..... "Ok, well let's move on.  Mark in Gainesville?" 

DEAD

This was the tune I performed for him, at least in part. It was just a new idea at the time and was maybe 50% done...  Song back story: I was literally having daily chest tightness from my shitty stressful day job. So bad to the point that I started writing breathing exercises to decompress to after work.  I'd pick a key and just vamp to it until something happened that chilled my body and soul out a bit. This one was titled, no joke: "TRY NOT TO DIE (in C minor)".  

I recorded this video version on August 22, 2023. I had just bought a fun stereo mic that plugs into the iPhone and was super excited for the lake bug noise in surround sound. And that Iris really sustains forever. If you have good headphones you can hear it. It's nuts. Just goes on forever. 

Anywho, I'm good! Songs are still happening. 

Thanks as always for riding along. Traveling for work this week. We'll see if I can sneak a tune in in time. If not, cool too. This is a practice, not a perfection.  :) 

I keep this video clip on my phone for when I am extra sad and need a Julian boost. He is literally the best.


Discussion about this podcast

Mark Archer’s Substack
Mark Archer’s Substack