Mark Archer’s Substack
Mark Archer’s Substack
Rose Tinted Glasses
3
0:00
-3:54

Rose Tinted Glasses

Weekly Writing Prompt: Where I Lay My Head
3
A ways back I sat down and came up with a version of the Bill Fay song, The Salt Of The Earth. Obviously, there's no comparing any guitar to his piano playing, but the piano to guitar transposition was a fun exercise. I absolutely adore Bill Fay. There's just a closeness to all his songs. Like he is singing right next to you. Just a fragile closeness. That definitely crept into this week's tune without knowing. 

Also! My super talented friend/band mate/neighbor, Brian Turk put the bass track on this Friday night. My first guest on the weekly song!

I put some warble on the melodica tracks to give nostalgia, dreamy streets of Paris vibe to the otherwise heady/heartache song. Images of rolling over to the empty side of the bed where your love once lay was the impetus for this one. 


Memories of falling 
Echoes your voice calling 
So warm and gentle 
The sentimental
Funny how the mind recovers
Time heels
All the rough spots smooth
Smoothed over

Wondering if I ever knew
Just how much I would miss you 

Your breath, a whispered tide
Pulls me closer to your side
In this solitude I long to lay my head beside you 
Beside you

February came and went
Texts messages never sent

Time stands still in a broken frame
Absence burns a constant flame
In this world, alone I roam
Searching for ways to atone

Your breath, a whispered tune
Breaks the silence in an empty room
In this solitude I long to lay my head beside you 
Beside you

Pain endured for this long
I still can’t admit that you’re gone




Also this happened today: 
Just in time to have the deck/dock refinished... again....  long story.  

Discussion about this podcast

Mark Archer’s Substack
Mark Archer’s Substack
My personal Substack
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Mark Archer