Mark Archer’s Substack
Mark Archer’s Substack
Life Without A Victor
2
0:00
-5:31

Life Without A Victor

Weekly Writer's Prompt: Life Without _________
2
I read this quote late last Monday night and I wanted to somehow sneak it in this week’s song: There are no beautiful surfaces without a terrible depth – Friedrich Nietsche

When I awoke Tuesday morning and saw the Prompt had an additional fun option of using the words “Fickle, Swarm, Double, Grasp, Bottle, Sway”. I got extra excited and  wanted to use them in order, but alas. I got close. I love a good word puzzle. 

Ah, the battle of brain vs heart….. 
In this version, my brain is a swashbuckling fellow that is waking/keeping me up at night with his loyal gang of misfits sweeping the sandy deck in three quarter time…. as they should.
My fickle heart refuses to beat
My pickled brain refuses to sleep
Self admittedly, it’s currently not my best form
What once was considered impossible has become my norm
My chest holds their guilt and all their regret
As I clean up the mess left from a battle with no winner yet
No winner yet
It’s getting harder to grasp the bottle as it sways from side to side
You best make it a double to save us both time
Cicadas surround us then swarm, choking my breath
The silence astoundingly woke that follow their death
I don’t feel responsible for what they Narrator: did / Swashy Brain: get
Until we burn it all down there’s no winner yet
No winner yet
My fucking heart refuses to beat
My fucking brain refuses to sleep
Crow’s feet cut deeper as the soil turns gray in the breadth
There are no beautiful surfaces without a terrible depth
My chest holds their guilt forever in debt
As I clean up the mess left from a battle with no winner yet
No winner yet

2 Comments
Mark Archer’s Substack
Mark Archer’s Substack