Mark Archer’s Substack
Mark Archer’s Substack
A Harbinger or Albatross
1
0:00
-4:45

A Harbinger or Albatross

Weekly Writing Prompt: Something To Hold On To
1
Howdy folks! I was recording this as the hurricane hit Thursday night. The wind sounded like banshees screaming through these old windows so I decided to record a track of my surroundings: the banshee wind, wind chimes, a nervous cat... 

I walked out to the front porch as I left the track recording to check things out under partial shelter and the minute I shut the front door the front lights went out. I thought maybe I did something, then realized.... oh shit. That was at 10:17pm Thursday. The power would not come back until Sunday 3:30am. I am thankful for no damage, but man... 

I intended to have quite a few more instruments on this but alas, no power or time. Though, I am now kinda digging the sparseness. Thanks as always for following along. Stay safe and take care of each other. 


A lifeline thick as dental floss
Was shot across the bow
My hands slipped the grip I lost
Let go of you somehow

 
At a loss for words but at what cost
I can’t think of it now
A harbinger or albatross
Doesn’t matter anyhow


If it’s out of line, well I don’t mind
I just need something to hold on to
I can beat down or dance around myself
With or without you
 

Whistle blows as the undertow
Pulls another underground
My mind’s adrift in the depth below
Too late to turnaround
Too late to turn back now

The storm somehow unlatched the door to the dock! That’s talent right there.

Discussion about this podcast

Mark Archer’s Substack
Mark Archer’s Substack
My personal Substack
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Mark Archer